8 results in English
The Art of Making Mechanical Timepieces for Church Towers, Rooms, and Pockets
Manuel del Río was a Spanish Franciscan, said to have been a skilled watchmaker, who probably learned the trade in Oporto, Portugal, with Tomás Luis de Sáa. Del Río belonged to the Franciscan community in Santiago, where in 1759 he published Arte de los reloxes de ruedas (The art of making mechanical timepieces). The work was reissued in 1789 in Madrid by del Río’s disciple Ramón Durán. That edition is presented here. The prologue states that one of the reasons for writing the book was the lack of manuals ...
Contributed by National Library of Spain
The Books of the Wisdom of Astronomy
The manuscript Libros del saber de astronomía (The books of the wisdom of astronomy) comprises 16 treatises on the science of the heavenly bodies and the instruments used in their study. The work contains translations from the Aramaic and the Arabic made by various people, including Yehuda ben Moshe Hakohen (also seen as Jehuda ben Moses Cohen) and Rabiçag de Toledo (also seen as Rabbi Zag and Isaac ben Sid), always with the direct input from King Alfonso X of Castile and Leon (1221‒84, called Alfonso the Wise) so ...
Entrance into the Emir's Palace in Old Bukhara
Between 1785 and 1920, eight emirs of the Manghit dynasty ruled Buhkara (in present-day Uzbekistan). After the Russian occupation of Samarkand (1868), the Emirate of Bukhara became a Russian protectorate. Seen in this bright winter view is the main entrance to the citadel, or Ark, the oldest archeological site in Bukhara (present-day Uzbekistan), with layers going back at least to the sixth century. The Ark in its present form originated in the 16th century under the Sheibanid dynasty, which reconstructed the platform on the ruins of earlier citadels. In the ...
Contributed by Library of Congress
Clock Made by Voloskov, in the Tver Museum
This 1910 photograph shows a late 18th-century clock made by the Russian inventor Terentii Voloskov (1729–1806). The clock showed the time, the day of the week, and the month. When the photograph was taken, the clock was in the collections of the Tver Museum. Opened in 1866, the museum displayed natural and archeological items of interest from the region of Tver, as well as crafts and works of art. In 1897 the museum was allocated rooms in the Imperial Transit Palace. In 1918 it was nationalized and granted ...
Contributed by Library of Congress
Tiled Stove in the Kniazhii Prince's Chamber. Rostov Velikii
At the beginning of the 20th century, the Russian photographer Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii (1863–1944) used a special color photography process to create a visual record of the Russian Empire. Some of Prokudin-Gorskii’s photographs date from about 1905, but the bulk of his work is from between 1909 and 1915, when, with the support of Tsar Nicholas II and the Ministry of Transportation, he undertook extended trips through many different parts of the empire.
Contributed by Library of Congress
Dickson and Company. Watches, Fine Cutlery, Jewelry
This print from around 1840 is an advertisement for Dickson & Company, located at 14 North Fifth Street (on the corner of Commerce Street and between Market and Arch Streets) in Philadelphia. A sign over the side doorway of the five-story building proclaims "Dickson and Co. Importers of Watches Clocks Jewellery & Plated Ware." Merchandise, particularly plated ware and tea kettles, is visible in the large display windows of the storefront building, as well as on shelves inside the store, seen through an open doorway. Crates are piled on the sidewalk at ...
John C. Farr and Company, Importers of Watches, Watchmakers Tools, Silver and Plated Ware, Musical Boxes, Et cetera. Number 112 Chestnut Street between Third and Fourth Streets, Philadelphia
This advertising print from circa 1850 shows street and pedestrian activity in front of the four-story corner storefront of the jewelry and watch store located at 112 ( i.e., 316) Chestnut Street in Philadelphia. A sign illustrated with a watch and reading, “No. 112 John C. Farr & Co. Wholesale and Retail,” adorns the side of the building. The sign is over a window with a shade that advertises watches, jewelry, and silverware. At the store entrance, a clerk greets two ladies and a girl between the display windows filled with silverware, jewelry, and watches. In front of the store, a lady and gentleman converse near the horses of an out-of-view carriage. At the corner, a man (possibly a store clerk) talks with two ladies who are accompanied by a child and dog. A partial view of the neighboring business (Eugene Roussel, perfumer) can be seen, including signage and the display window of the shop. This print also contains a Gothic-style border and pictorial elements that flank the central image. The pictorial elements are a clock sculpture, a pocket watch, and embellished text reading, “Watches” and “Jewelry.” Text at the bottom reads: “John C. Farr & Co. Importers of watches, watchmakers tools. Silver & plated ware, musical boxes, &c.” Farr started his business in the mid-1820s and changed the firm name to John C. Farr & Company in 1850. The business relocated circa 1854. This lithograph was printed by one of the most prominent lithographers and printers of the day, Peter S. Duval. Duval was born circa 1804 or 1805 in France. He emigrated from France to Philadelphia in the fall of 1831 to accept a job as a lithographer with the printing firm of Childs & Inman. By 1837 he had established his lithographic printing shop; he remained in business until his retirement in 1869.
Wm. B. Eltonhead, Dealer in All Kinds of Watches, and Manufacturer of All Kinds of Jewelry and Silver Ware. 184 South Second Street, Between Pine and Union Streets, West Side, Philadelphia
This circa 1855 advertising print shows a three-and-one-half story storefront located on the 200 block of South Second Street in Philadelphia. The storefront features an open entrance, two large display windows, and signage advertising, “Wm.B. Eltonhead, Watches & Jewelry.” A large model pocket watch adorns the front of the building. Inside the store, a clerk attends to a male patron, and another man and a woman stand nearby. A number of men, women, and children walk in front of the store. Some proceed into the store; others admire the merchandise displayed in the large windows. Displays include framed portraits, platters, watches, and other sliver-plated pieces and fancy goods. William B. Eltonhead tenanted this address beginning in 1850, remaining until the mid-1860s before relocating the store to Chestnut Street. He received patents for gold washing and a match ...