This southeast view of the Church of the Trinity (formerly Ascension) at the Ascension-Trinity Monastery in Solikamsk was taken in 2000 by Dr. William Brumfield, American photographer and historian of Russian architecture, as part of the "Meeting of Frontiers" project at the Library of Congress. Founded around 1430 on the middle reaches of the Kama River, Solikamsk is among the oldest Russian settlements in the Ural Mountains. Its wealth was based on salt (hence the first part of its name) and other minerals. The Ascension Monastery was founded circa 1590 by tradesmen and free peasants. Its buildings were made of wood until the construction of the Ascension Church in 1698-1704. Its one cupola and simple roof surmount a whitewashed brick structure that is among the town's most richly decorated, with elaborate window surrounds as well as arches supported by a large frieze. Other components, including a low refectory on the west and the Annunciation Chapel at the south façade (both visible here), create a picturesque ensemble. The Ascension Monastery was closed in 1764 as part of the reorganization of monasteries under Catherine the Great. After a complex transitional period, it was rededicated as the Ascension-Trinity Monastery at the end of the 18th century. The change of name also applied to the main church.