The Presidential Succession of 1910: The National Democratic Party


La sucesión presidencial en 1910: El Partido Nacional Democrático (The presidential succession of 1910: the National Democratic Party) caused an immediate sensation among the political class in Mexico when it was published in late 1908. The book’s author, Francisco I. Madero, was a member of a prominent family of landowners and businessmen from the state of Coahuila. Madero was committed to liberal politics and for many years provided intellectual and material support to dissidents arrayed against the government of Porfirio Díaz (president 1876–1911, except for 1880–84 and a few days in 1876). Under the slogan of “order and progress,” the Díaz dictatorship had banned political opposition and ruled out the possibility of alternation in power. Madero’s book advocated democratic elections, a rotating system for public offices, an end to corruption, and the formation of political organizations to contest free elections. In 1909, when the Diaz government began preparations for the centenary celebrations of Mexico’s independence, Madero founded the Central Club Antirreeleccionista with the slogan: "Effective suffrage and no reelection." Many intellectuals, including Filomeno Mata, José Vasconcelos, Luis Cabrera, and the brothers Francisco and Emilio Vazquez Gomez, joined the movement and conducted campaigns throughout the country to form local clubs to support the anti-reelection cause. They also founded a newspaper, El Antirreleccionista, which was immediately banned. The reelection of Díaz and Madero’s own harassment and imprisonment later convinced him of the need to initiate an armed struggle, which became the Mexican Revolution, forcing Díaz from office.

Last updated: August 31, 2015