Canons of the Councils


This volume contains the canons (decisions on ecclesiastical matters), translated from Greek into Arabic, of the seven great Church councils and extracts from six local or provincial councils. The seven great ecumenical councils were: Nicea (which took place in 325), Constantinople I (381), Ephesus (431), Chalcedon (451), Constantinople II (553), Constantinople III (680), and Nicea II (787). This collection of canons was compiled and arranged by Yūḥannā Ibn Zinda in 1690. The manuscript is dated 1851 by two copyists and is said to have belonged to the library of the American missionaries in Beirut.

Date Created

Subject Date


Title in Original Language

كتاب الناموس الشريف والمصحف العالي المتضمن السبعة مجامع الكبار والستة الصغار

Additional Subjects

Type of Item

Physical Description

254 pages ; 37.5 x 25.2 centimeters


Last updated: August 28, 2012