Complete Map of the Seven Coastal Provinces


The postscript to this work indicates that it was based on an original painting by Zhou Beitang, which was later acquired by a man named Shao Tinglie who had it published, together with two other works, Wusong ko fang yang (Wusong port to the ocean) and Jiang dong xing sheng (Natural frontiers east of the river) in book form in woodblock print. The book depicts the coastal provinces of Fengtian, Zhili, Shandong, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Fujian and Guangdong; and areas near the port of Wusong, including Baoshan, Shanghai, Huangpu River and a small section of Chongming Island. It also includes two folding sheets depicting Jiang dong, which includes Nanjing, Zhenjiang, part of Anhui, Rugao, Yangzhou, and Yizheng. Originally published during the Daoguang period (1821-50), the work went through six revisions between the seventh year of the Xianfeng reign (1857) and the tenth year of the Tongzhi reign (1871). It is richly decorated with commentaries written in red ink. One of the prefaces is dated 1843. This copy was formerly in the collection of Huang Pengnian (1823–91), a Qing official and painter, whose postscripts are also included.


Date Created

Subject Date

Publication Information

Shao Tinglie, China


Title in Original Language


Type of Item

Physical Description

1 juan, 1 ce: maps

Last updated: January 3, 2018