Trinity-Gleden Monastery, Church of the Trinity, Interior, View East with Icon Screen, Velikii Ustiug, Russia
This interior view of the Church (sobor) of the Trinity of the Trinity-Gleden Monastery (at Morozovitsa, near Velikii Ustiug, Vologda Oblast) was taken in 1998 by Dr. William Brumfield, American photographer and historian of Russian architecture, as part of the "Meeting of Frontiers" project at the Library of Congress. Settled by Russians as early as the 12th century, Velikii Ustiug rapidly became a center of trade and missionary activity. The wealth of the town's merchants in the 18th century supported donations to churches, including the Trinity-Gleden Monastery, located south of the town, on the opposite side of the Sukhona River. The monastery’s main church, dedicated to the Trinity, was built in the late 17th century, and a century later, between 1776 and 1784, a new donation enabled the creation of a splendid iconostasis, whose exuberant baroque figures reflect the town's ties with Saint Petersburg. Both the tripartite form of the iconostasis and its state of preservation are extraordinary, with a full complement of icons painted in a Western academic style. The gilded carved frame, created by local masters, is fascinating as a northern interpretation of European baroque art. The iconostasis culminates in a large crucifix beneath the main dome, which rises above the two massive piers of the interior.
Title in Original Language
Trinity-Gleden Monastery, Church of the Trinity, Interior, View East with Icon screen, Velikii Ustiug, Russia
Type of Item
1 slide : color ; 35 millimeter
Last updated: January 11, 2016