Church of the Resurrection (1686-94), Southwest View, Matigory, Russia
This southwest view of the Church of the Resurrection in the village of Verkhnie Matigory (Arkhangel'sk Oblast) was taken in 1999 by Dr. William Brumfield, American photographer and historian of Russian architecture, as part of the "Meeting of Frontiers" project at the Library of Congress. Made of stuccoed brick with white ornamental details, the Church of the Resurrection was erected in 1686-94 on a bluff above the Matigorka River (a tributary of the Northern Dvina River) by the master builder Fëdor Spiridonov Stafurov. The picturesque arrangement of its volumes begins with the main structure, whose walls culminate in an ornamental arcade. Five onion domes arise from a platform projecting above the main cube. To the west are two chapels and a heated vestibule (trapeznaia) built in the early 18th century and dedicated to Saint Paraskeva and Saint Nicholas. Each of the chapel altars is marked on the exterior by a cupola. The bell tower, an octagonal structure at the western end of the church, has openings for ten bells and concludes in a "tent" tower. The bell structure balances the pyramidal shape of the church in a rich display of volume and proportion. By the time the church was completed, the Matigory-Kholmogory area already had begun to yield to Arkhangel’sk, founded in 1584 some 60 kilometers to the northwest, near the mouth of the Dvina.
Type of Item
1 slide : color ; 35 millimeter
Last updated: July 28, 2017