Eight-Point Program for a New Government


This manuscript is the handwritten draft of proposals formulated by Sakamoto Ryōma (1836-67) and Gotō Shōjirō (1838-97), pro-imperial activists from the Tosa Domain (now Kochi prefecture) in western Japan, in 1867. In this document, Ryōma and Shōjirō proposed an eight-point program of political reforms to be undertaken by the new imperial government after the expected resignation of Tokugawa Yoshinobu (1837-1913), the last shogun. The proposed reforms included enactment of new fundamental laws, recruitment of capable people to serve as government advisers, establishment of diplomatic relations with foreign powers, and establishment of a parliament and of a headquarters for the army and the navy.

Last updated: December 12, 2017