Chart of the Organs Revealed by Inward Illumination


This medical text shows the five major organs (heart, liver, spleen, lungs, and kidneys) and six minor organs (gall bladder, stomach, small intestines, large intestine, bladder, and triple heater meridian) of the human body, as defined in Chinese traditional medicine. The triple heater meridian is one of 12 basic meridians used in Chinese medicine to understand the functioning of the body. Also shown are other concepts from Chinese medicine, for example, the cinnabar field. In Taoist thought, the cinnabar field is the root of the human being, the place in the body where essence and spirit are stored. Located about ten centimeters below the navel, it is said to be the origin of the five breaths (wuqi).

Last updated: September 29, 2014