Treaty Between the Ottawa, Chippewa, Wyandot, and Potawatomi Indians


This document, also known as the Treaty of Detroit, was signed on November 17, 1807, by William Hull, governor of the territory of Michigan, and the chiefs, sachems, and warriors of four Indian tribes, the Ottawa, Chippewa, Wyandot, and Potawatomi. Under its terms, the tribes ceded to the United States a tract of land comprising roughly the southeast quarter of the lower peninsula of Michigan and a small section of Ohio north of the Maumee River. The tribes retained small tracts of land within this territory. Until Congress abolished the practice of making treaties with Indian tribes in 1871, the United States signed and ratified at least 367 such treaties, many of which, however, it later broke or failed to observe.

Last updated: November 8, 2013