The Austrian Circle


The Holy Roman Empire (962-1806) was organized, beginning in the early 1500s, into ten Imperial Circles, each of which had its own diet or parliament, and which had certain responsibilities with regard to defense, tax collection, and other functions. (Some territories of the empire, for example, Bohemia and parts of Italy, were not grouped in circles.) This late-18th century French map shows the Austrian Circle, which largely coincided with those lands ruled by the House of Habsburg from Vienna. In addition to Austria proper, the Austrian Circle included parts of present-day Germany, Italy, Slovenia, and Switzerland.

Date Created

Subject Date

Publication Information

Louis-Charles Desnos, Paris


Title in Original Language

Cercle d'Autriche

Additional Subjects

Type of Item

Physical Description

1 map : color ; 23 x 25 centimeters

Last updated: September 29, 2014