Geographical Description and Governmental Administration and Settlement of the Spanish Colonies in the Gulf of Guinea


This book is a detailed description of the African colony of Spanish Guinea (present-day Equatorial Guinea), by a Spanish colonial official, Luis Ramos-Izquierdo y Vivar. The Spanish territories in west Africa included the islands of Ferdinand Po, Coriseo, Elobey-Chico, Elobey-Grande, and Annobon, and the mainland African territory known as Rio Muni. The first part of the book covers the geography of the island and the mainland territories, including their climate, physical features, and populations. The second part of the book discusses the government and administration of the territories. Ramos-Izqueirdo y Vivar served both as vice-governor and governor of Rio Muni. He was awarded numerous honors, including the Order of Calatrava, the Order of Maria Cristina, and the Naval Order of Merit. Equatorial Guinea became independent in 1968, after 190 years of Spanish rule.

Date Created

Subject Date

Publication Information

Felipe Peña Cruz, Madrid, Spain


Title in Original Language

Descripción geográfica y gobierno, administración y colonización de las colonias españolas del golfo de Guinea

Additional Subjects

Type of Item

Physical Description

355 pages, 49 leaves of plates (some folded) : illustrations, portraits, plans, maps, facsimiles ; 25 centimeters

Last updated: March 7, 2014