Maps of the Balkan Peninsula


In preparation for the peace conference that was expected to follow World War I, in the spring of 1917 the British Foreign Office established a special section responsible for preparing background information for use by British delegates to the conference. Maps of the Balkan Peninsula is Number 15 in a series of studies produced by the section, most of which were published after the conclusion of the 1919 Paris Peace Conference. The book contains a collection of seven foldout maps and a table of treaties. Six of the maps are sheets from the General Map of Europe, compiled at the Royal Geographic Society under the direction of the Geographic Section of the General Staff, and printed in 1915 by the Ordnance Survey. The maps are of regions around seven major cities in or near the Balkans: Jitomir (Zhytomyr, Ukraine), Buda Pest (Budapest, Hungary), Bucuresti (Bucharest, Romania), Sofiya (Sofia, Bulgaria), Istambul (Istanbul, Turkey), and Athenai (Athens, Greece). Also included is a skeleton historical map of Southeast Europe that shows the entire Balkan Peninsula and its national frontiers as of December 1918, with earlier boundaries established by the Treaty of Berlin (1878), the Treaty of San Stefano (1878), and other treaties marked in red. The table of treaties, provided to explain the historical map, lists 20 treaties concluded between 1812 and 1918 that played roles in defining borders in the Balkans. The effects of each treaty, where relevant, are summarized for the seven Balkan countries: Montenegro, Serbia, Bulgaria, Romania, Albania, Greece, and Turkey. Several studies in the series deal with the Balkans, including, for example, The Jugo-Slav Movement (Number 14); Turkey in Europe (Number 16); and Montenegro (Number 19).

Last updated: November 14, 2017