Maps of Austria-Hungary


In preparation for the peace conference that was expected to follow World War I, in the spring of 1917 the British Foreign Office established a special section responsible for preparing background information for use by British delegates to the conference. Maps of Austria-Hungary is Number 1 in a series of studies produced by the section, most of which were published after the conclusion of the 1919 Paris Peace Conference. The book contains a collection of 10 foldout maps. Eight of the maps are sheets from the General Map of Europe, compiled at the Royal Geographic Society under the direction of the Geographic Section of the General Staff, and printed in 1915 by the Ordnance Survey. On some of the maps, corrections were made in late 1918. The maps are of regions around eight major cities in or near the Austro-Hungarian Empire: Wien (Vienna, Austria), Krakau (Krakow, Poland), Jitomir (Zhytomyr, Ukraine), Milano (Milan, Italy), Triest (Trieste, Italy), Buda Pest (Budapest, Hungary), Bucuresti (Bucharest, Romania), and Sofiya (Sofia, Bulgaria). The other two maps are of the Curzolarian Archipelago off the coast of Dalmatia (present-day Korculan Archipelago, Croatia), and a map entitled “Hungary and Croatia-Slavonia (Sketch Map Showing Internal Divisions).”  The first eight maps show the orientation of the subject city in relation to other major international cities, and all of the maps show scale in miles and kilometers.

Last updated: November 14, 2017