Map of the Holy Land Divided among the Twelve Tribes of Israel


Presented here is a detailed map of the Holy Land that appeared in Atlas Historique, Ou Nouvelle Introduction à L'Histoire, which was published in seven volumes in Amsterdam between 1705 and 1720 by Zacharie Chatelain (died 1723) and his sons Henri Abraham Chatelain (1684‒1743) and Zacharie Junior (1690‒1754). The atlas included maps by the great French cartographer Guillaume de L'Isle (1675‒1726) and by other mapmakers, engraved by Henri Abraham Chatelain. This was an encyclopedic work that included ethnological, genealogical, costume, and heraldic as well as historical and geographic information. The text in the volumes is in French. The maps are numbered consecutively and bear the privileges of the provinces of Holland and West Friesland, which rebelled against Spain in the late 16th century to form a de facto republic that was recognized by England and France. This particular map is based on the original cartography of Nicolas Sanson (1600‒1667), as revised by de L’Isle. The map shows the Mediterranean coast from Sidon in the north to Gaza in the south and the territories allotted to the 12 tribes of Israel, as described in the Hebrew Bible. The bishoprics of Palestine are listed around three sides of the map. A historical note at top left gives information about major towns and cities, including Jerusalem, Naplouse (present-day Nablus), Bethlehem, Nazareth, and Joppé (present-day Jaffa). Distance is indicated by scales in four different units of measurement.

Date Created

Subject Date

Publication Information

Châtelain Brothers, Amsterdam


Title in Original Language

Carte de la Terre Sainte divisée dans toutes ses parties selon le nombre des tribus d’Israel

Type of Item

Physical Description

1 map : hand colored ; 43 x 51 centimeters

Last updated: January 17, 2017