Beethoven’s Symphony Number 9 in D Minor, Opus 125


No other symphonic composition has met with such a broad and complex reception as Ludwig van Beethoven's Symphony Number 9 in D minor, opus 125, popularly known as the Choral Symphony. The work marked an important development in 19th century music. In the finale, Beethoven set to music the German poet Friedrich von Schiller’s An die Freude (Ode to joy), the first time the human voice was included in a symphonic work. The symphony was first performed in Vienna on May 7, 1824. Its influence ever since has extended far beyond the field of music. The work has inspired poets, writers, and visual artists, and it has provoked aesthetic and philosophical argument and discussion. Above all, the symphony has at all times proclaimed to people of good will its message of joy and the global brotherhood of humanity. Composers influenced by the work have included Schubert, Berlioz, Brahms, Wagner, Bruckner, Mahler, and many others. The autograph score of Beethoven's Ninth is held, almost in its entirety, in the music department of Berlin State Library–Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation. Some sheets from the score that were removed in the 19th century are held at the Beethoven-Haus in Bonn and in the National Library of France in Paris. The original score of the symphony was added to the UNESCO Memory of the World register in 2001, where it joins other outstanding monuments to the spiritual heritage of mankind.

Date Created

Subject Date

Title in Original Language

Sinfonie No. 9

Type of Item

Physical Description

137 leaves, 150 pages


  • Contents: [First movement] Allegro ma non troppo e un poco maestoso (except bars 255-259) [autogr. 2, f. 1r-49v]; [Second movement] Molto vivace [autogr. 2, f. 50r-91v]; Trio. Presto; [Third movement] Adagio molto e cantabile [autogr. 2, f. 92r-115v]; [Fourth movement]; Presto - Allegro assai - Recitativo [Bars 1-240; Artaria 204 (1)]; Presto; Allegro assai; Presto; [recitative] O Freunde, nicht diese Töne; Allegro assai: Freude, schöner Götterfunken [Bars 241-330; Artaria 204 (2)]; Allegro assai vivace. Alla marcia: Froh, wie seine Sonnen fliegen [Bars 331-342, 375-594; autogr. 2, f. 116r-136v]; Andante maestoso: Seid umschlungen, Millionen [Bars 595-649; Artaria 204 (3a, S. 67-76)]; Allegro energico e sempre ben marcato: Freude, schöner Götterfunken / Seid umschlungen [Bars 655-698; Artaria 204 (3a), S. 77-84]; Allegro energico e sempre ben marcato (Forts.) [Bars 699-762; Artaria 204 (3b)]; Allegro ma non tanto - Presto - Maestoso - Prestissimo [Bars 763-813, 822-904; Artaria 204 (4)]; Allegro ma non tanto: Tochter, Tochter aus Elysium; Presto: Seid umschlungen, Millionen!; Maestoso: Tochter aus Elysium; Prestissimo; nachkomponierte Takte 255-258 zum 1. Satz [Artaria 204 (6)]; Partiturentwurf zum 4. Satz [Artaria 204 (7)]; Kontrafagott-Stimme zum 4. Satz [Artaria 204 (5)].
  • Shelfmark: Beethoven, L. v. 2; Beethoven, L. v., Artaria 204

Last updated: January 8, 2018