European Turkey and Part of Asian Turkey, Divided into Large Provinces and Governorships


This mid-18th century French map shows the Balkan Peninsula, most of Anatolia (present-day Turkey), and the Mediterranean islands of Cyprus and Crete. The map bears the inscription “Sr. Janvier” (“Le Sieur Janvier”), a designation that refers to a cartographer active in Paris between 1746 and 1776 whose name was either Jean or Robert Janvier. The map offers a striking view of the European territories of the Ottoman Empire. Although past the peak of its power, the empire still controlled Albania, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Greece, Macedonia, Romania, and Serbia. The borders of these territories are demarcated by colored inks, and their names given in French. Countries bordering the Adriatic Sea (called the Gulf of Venice on the map) are shown, including parts of present-day Croatia that were then part of Venice, Dalmatia (also controlled by Venice at that time), and the Republic of Ragusa (present-day Dubrovnik, Croatia, and environs). Three distance scales are provided: Turkish miles, French leagues, and marine leagues.

Last updated: April 25, 2014