Representatives of the First Iranian Parliament


This photograph shows the representatives of the first Iranian Majles (parliament) in front of the military academy, which served as the first parliament building. In the 1870s–early 20th century, leading political figures in Iran concluded that the only way to save country from government corruption and foreign manipulation was to make a written code of laws, an attitude that laid the foundation for the Iranian Constitutional Revolution of 1905–7. The movement for a constitution bore fruit during the reign of Muẓaffar ad-Dīn Shah of the Qajar dynasty, who ascended to throne in June 1896. Under relentless pressure from the proponents of constitutional rule, Muẓaffar ad-Din Shah was forced to issue, on August 5, 1906, the decree for the constitution and creation of the elected Majles (National Consultative Assembly). On August 18, 1906, the first legislative assembly, the Supreme National Assembly, gathered in the national military academy to prepare for the opening of the first term of the National Consultative Assembly and to draft a parliamentary electoral law. On October 7, 1906 the shah inaugurated the first session of the Majles (October 7, 1906–June 23, 1908). The most important task undertaken by the first Majles was to draft and ratify the constitution, which was completed on December 30, 1906. This session also established the internal procedures for the Majles and drafted and ratified, on October 17, 1907, the constitutional amendments.

Last updated: August 14, 2013