• This 19th-century Japanese pen-and-ink and watercolor map of Korea possibly was copied from an original manuscript map of 1785 by Hayashi Shihei, “Sangoku tsūran zusetsu” (Illustrated survey of three countries). It depicts eight provinces that became the basis of the current administrative provinces and municipalities in South Korea and North Korea. The Tokugawa shogunate banned Hayashi’s original map in 1791, along with his book of the same year, Kaikoku heidan (Discussion of the military problems of a maritime nation). The Tokugawa shogunate considered Hayashi a dangerous critic of official policy for arguing the need to reeducate Samurai warriors and prepare for naval warfare.


Date Created

Subject Date


Title in Original Language

  • Chōsen hachidō no zu, 5-mai no Uchi, Betsuni Setsuari


Time Period


Type of Item

Physical Description

  • 1 manuscript map, pen-and-ink and watercolor ; 50 x 73 centimeters