• This map by the Nuremberg engraver and publisher Johann Baptist Homann (1663-1724) features 15 aerial views of cities in Persia (present-day Iran), Afghanistan, southern Russia, eastern Turkey, and the Caucasus region. Beneath each city portrait is a number or letter key indicating the most important points in each city, including city gates and walls, bodies of water, royal palaces, and markets. The cities depicted are (1) Astrakhan, Russia; (2) Derbent, Dagestan, Russia; (3) Tiflis, Georgia; (4) Kars, Turkey; (5) Erzurum, Turkey; (6) Baku, Azerbaijan; (7) Sultanieh (Zanjān Province), Iran; (8) Şamaxı (Shirvan Region), Azerbaijan; (9) Yerevan, Armenia; (10) Shiraz, Iran; (11) Kandahar, Afghanistan; (12) Ardabil, Iran; (13) Kashan (Isfahan Province), Iran; (14) Isfahan, Iran; and (15) Bandar Abass, Iran. Isfahan is identified as the capital of the kingdom of Persia and shown larger than the other cities. Shiraz is identified as the ancient city of Persepolis and the former capital of the Persian Empire. Kandahar is described as a “fortress and city on the Indian border of Persia.” Erzurum, located in present-day Turkey, is identified as “die Grantz-Stadt in Armenien” (the Armenian border town).


Date Created

Publication Information

  • Johann Baptist Homann, Nurenberg


Title in Original Language

  • Verschiedene propspecte der vornemsten stadten in Persien


Time Period


Additional Subjects

Type of Item

Physical Description

  • 15 views on 1 sheet : color ; 49 x 58 centimeters